Healthy Cookies

If your toddler is like mine she has a steady rotation of only a few foods over and over and over!  And chocolate?  Watch out!  She could eat a pound of it.  So I wanted to make a chocolate cookie that she would want to eat that had some hidden goodness in it.  I came up with this recipie that I call

Carrot Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Some of the secret goodies in these:

  • Prunes – prunes are the highest fruit in antioxidant level and a good source of fiber.  They add a sweetness but also a stickiness that replaces fat in the recipe.  It makes shortening or butter uneccessary and only a small amount of oil is needed.
  • Honey – this recipie uses honey and brown sugar instead of the over-processed and bleached white sugar.  As an added bonus use local, raw honey for a host of other benefits.
  • Walnuts – a super source of omega 3’s!
  • Carrots – carrots are the easiest vegetable to sneak into sweets because it is…sweet!

Ingredients

1.5c oats
1.5c flour
.5tsp baking soda
1.5tbsp ground cinnamon
.5 tsp coarse sea salt
1/3c canola oil (or for added nutrition use coconut oil warmed to liquid)
1 egg
1 egg white
2/3c dark brown sugar
.5c honey
1.5tbsp vanilla extract
1c chopped prunes
1c chopped walnuts
1c shredded carrots
2c semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper or use stoneware (I used Pampered Chef stone)
2. In one bowl combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  In another bowl (I used the Stand Mixer) cream sugar, honey, egg, egg white, and vanilla. Add prunes and carrots and combine.
3. Incorporate dry ingredients into wet slowly.
4. Add oats until incorporated. Repeat with walnuts and chocolate chips.
5. Drop by tablespoons onto cookie sheet.  Flatten slightly with the back of a spoon (these don’t “spread” like fatty cookies so this gives them a cookie shape).
6. Bake 15-20 minutes

Aellyn thought they were delish!!

4 thoughts on “Healthy Cookies

  1. Hey, this looks great! And I think I have everything on hand! So you say .1 egg but I assume that's just one whole egg, not a tenth of an egg, right? Ha. I am lazy and would probably just put two whole eggs instead of separating out a white — would that change anything?

    YUM!

    Like

  2. Hey, this looks great! And I think I have everything on hand! So you say .1 egg but I assume that’s just one whole egg, not a tenth of an egg, right? Ha. I am lazy and would probably just put two whole eggs instead of separating out a white — would that change anything?

    YUM!

    Like

    • ha ha! If you can figure out how to get .1 of an egg I’ll give you a prize! No I don’t think it would matter much. It might be a little denser?

      Like

  3. Pingback: My Month With Water Kefir | Baby Dust Diaries

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

