My Big Fat Preterm Labor, Pre-eclampsia, Gestational Diabetes Pregnancy Update

Hello from the hospital preinatal unit where I will most likely remain until my boys are born.  I don’t think I’m going to be able to manage eloquence here but I do want to update everyone and get the facts out.

On Friday morning, Aellyn’s second birthday!, I had a non-stress test scheduled.  During the test I was having contractions every 5-7 minutes so off to OB triage I went.  These weren’t at all painful and I would have called them Braxton Hicks except they were so close together.  The hospital was packed and I spent a few hours in Recovery because Triage was full.  My contractions actually spread out to less than 4 per hour and my blood pressure stabilized as well.  I felt pretty sure I was about to be sent home but they wanted to do a cervical check first.

I was 2-3 cm and 50% effaced.  I couldn’t believe it.  Those painless little “tightenings” in my uterus were actually dilating me!  Well that changed everything.  No going home at 30 w 3 d while dilated.

I was admitted to Labor and Delivery and started on magnesium sulfate to stop contractions, antibiotics, and a shot of steroids for the babies’ lungs.

Ugh, “mag” what a drug.  Mag relaxes smooth muscle so in addition to stopping contractions of the uterus it makes everything dilate so it makes you hotter than Hades.  The worst was it makes you weak.  Rubber legs.  I can’t walk.  I’m having trouble typing – especially letters like “l” and the “.” that use my ring fingers – I keep missing them.  It gives you blurred vision as well.  Tons of fun!

I had a consult with the neonatologist which went really well.  He took his time with me and was very respectful even when discussing vaccines and such.  He admitted that HepB was no big deal and they only gave them  because they had a “captive audience” – hmmmm, I’ve been saying that haven’t I?? – and even better he said that if I can’t produce enough breastmilk for both babies they would supplement with banked human milk!  I didn’t even ask or talk about avoiding formula I just told him breastfeeding was important to me.  I guess they use the human milk for the smallest and sickest babies but I’m glad to know my boys’ intestines won’t have to deal with cow’s milk protein early (especially because of the darn antibiotics).

They did a 24 hour urine collection and my protein number was 842.  Three hundred is considered pre-eclampsia.   So, yep, I have pre-eclampsia.  I’ve heard of much worse cases.  I’m not experiencing any edema (swelling) even with the steroids and my blood pressure is moderate (130s/90s) while on the mag (which lowers bp).

So tomorrow morning they’ll take me off the mag.  The goal is to not deliver to 32 weeks at a minimum.  It sounds like after 32 weeks they wouldn’t necessarily stop labor depending on tons of factors like my blood glucose, blood pressure, etc.  What I do know is that I’ll be in the hospital until my babies are born

So how am I feeling?  I’ve been very upset at first – just shocked.  Now I feel like I’m in the best hands.  If my boys were born tonight they would have top notch care.  It could be worse.  My bp could be over 160.  My proteinuria could be in the thousands.  I could have been dilated beyond the point of no return and the babies wouldn’t have had the benefit of the steroids.  Survival rate is excellent for 30 week babies and I’m nearly 31 weeks.  32 weeks is even better  34 is fabulous.  My boys are a good size.  3lb 4oz and 3lb 8oz at my last ultrasound.  They are doing good – heart rates are awesome – accelerating when needed and not decelling.

I miss my daughter.  We had an impromptu birthday party for her in my hospital room.  I miss sleeping in my own bed with my husband.  I’m not really confident I’ll handle bed rest well!  I’m such a busy body and I get depressed when I’m bored.  And, obviously, you know I’m a research freak so my goal will be to keep busy but NOT obsess over every premature baby story ever.

I love Facebook.  None of this had to happen in a vaccum – all along I’ve updated family and friends and received their love and support through words on a simple website.  Really it is powerful.  Oh, and I have internet now!  That makes the whole world better, right?

I think that’s all the facts.  I hope I didn’t leave anything out and I don’t really have any hard and fast answers it is one day at a time.  Each day matters to my babies.

Thank you all so much and I will humbly continue to ask for your prayers!

15 thoughts on “My Big Fat Preterm Labor, Pre-eclampsia, Gestational Diabetes Pregnancy Update

  1. If you’re having trouble with making enough of your own breastmilk for your babies, and you’re having trouble finding or getting banked milk, you can look on a local Eats on Feets on f/b and see if there are any donor moms in your area.

    Like

  2. Hang in there. I wish I had known about blogging when I was on bedrest. I was at home for two months with mine but had four emergency trips to stop contractions. Do your best to rest and let the staff take care of you. Sounds like a very good hospital to me.

    Like

  3. I’ve only just started reading your blog (and love it by the way) but wanted to pop in and comment to say I am thinking of you.

    I was in hospital with my twin pregnancy from 25 weeks till our girls were born at 29 weeks gestation due to TTTS so not the same issues are you are facing but I can so relate to the crappy drugs and the feelings of anger and helplessness and not liking the hospital system so much but ultimately knowing you are in the right place and doing the best for your babies.

    Take care of yourself and keep on going because you are so right… each day makes a difference.

    Like

  4. Oh, only seeing this now, and will be thinking of you tons! Hope things are still going well, considering. You've made it beyond the scariest stage, for sure, and it sounds like the hospital has some good things in place (never heard of them using banked milk — fabulous!!!).

    Sorry you are missing your girl, though, it is SO hard to be away from them. My first night in the hospital for PTL was the first night I ever slept away from Emma!

    Keep us posted when you can, though I totally, TOTALLY understand if you can not — I was an extremely sporadic blogger for a good year or so there!!!

    Like

  5. Oh, only seeing this now, and will be thinking of you tons! Hope things are still going well, considering. You’ve made it beyond the scariest stage, for sure, and it sounds like the hospital has some good things in place (never heard of them using banked milk — fabulous!!!).

    Sorry you are missing your girl, though, it is SO hard to be away from them. My first night in the hospital for PTL was the first night I ever slept away from Emma!

    Keep us posted when you can, though I totally, TOTALLY understand if you can not — I was an extremely sporadic blogger for a good year or so there!!!

    Like

  6. Here via LFCA… My twins, Bobby and Maya, are 27w5d babies are are healthy and happy 18mo toddlers now… So yes, it is totally doable to have healthy preemies… But it is terrifying as hell. Hoping that you are able to get full term and that you take those beautiful babies home with you at discharge!

    I was on bedrest for 16w (7w in the hospital) so, if you ever want to vent, feel free to email.

    Like

  7. Bless you. If it makes you feel any better, my SIL delivered her twins at 27 weeks and they did very well. But you are right, every day helps. I hope you make it to 32 at least, and that your proteinuria doesn’t get too bad. I had that, too, when I was pregnant. I found that not stressing actually helped a lot. Good luck!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Six Years of Baby Dust | Baby Dust Diaries

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

