Does Your Kid Have a Lovey?

Welcome to the new and improved ADM Blog Hop (you can read more about the roots of this Blog Hop here).  Our host this week is Sara over at Fred-n-Sara.  Anyone can participate!  Just post on the week’s topic and add you link to the Linky at the bottom of the post.


Topic: Share how your child, or you, or someone you know, found and adopted his/her lovey and the importance of it in his/her life.  As a bonus, feel free to add cute pictures of your little ones with their loveys.

Aellyn does not have a lovey.  Well, I guess her Dad and I are her lovey if by lovey you mean that comfort item that helps them fall asleep at night or comforts them when they need it.  To fall asleep Aellyn requires my arm (that’s two blog posts in a row that feature my arm – how weird is that?).  She cuddles up and rubs my arm from wrist to shoulder until she falls asleep.  If she wakes in the night she’ll reach over just to touch one of us or say “Ahhhm (arm)” for a tighter snuggle.

I wonder if cosleeping kids are less likely to have a lovey?  What do you think?

Anyways, Aellyn is just getting into imaginative play.  Pretending she’s putting baby Stella to sleep or feeding Mr. Monkey.  I’m sure that, like best friends, she will eventually develop a special connection with a specific toy.  I certainly don’t mind this and can’t wait to see what it is!  Right now she goes to a different toy every day.  She’ll bring them up to bed with her and we “put them to sleep” next to the bed (umm, sorry but 3 kids, 2 adults…there isn’t going to be room for a menagerie of plush).

The really funny thing about all this?  There is a lovey in our family-bed – MINE!  I have a ratty, falling apart crocheted blanket that has been my constant companion since I was 3 months old.  Seriously.  It has been to Europe with me, bottom of the Grand Canyon, top of the Rockies.  It is more well traveled than either of may parents, lol.  Like a smoker I say I *can* live without it I just don’t want to!

So there’s a story of the child without a lovey and the 35 year old that still sleeps with hers.

Do you have a lovey?  Do your children?


6 thoughts on “Does Your Kid Have a Lovey?

  1. I just wrote about the answer to your question here: http://naturalparentsnetwork.com/five-benefits-co

    To quote:
    “When a child routinely goes to sleep in the presence of an adult, or with an adult holding her, it’s extremely rare to find thumb sucking or attachment to security objects.” In a study of children ages one to seven years old who all sucked their thumbs, 96% of them “had been left alone to fall asleep as infants. In stark contrast, there were no thumb suckers among a large group of children who had physical contact with an adult while falling asleep.” In a different study of children between three and five years old, researchers found “that solitary sleepers were far more likely to use a security object than co-sleepers. The researchers concluded that children use security objects as substitutes for nighttime human touch.”

    (citation in post)

    🙂

    Like

  2. I would think that Mom and Dad would serve as a child’s lovey when cosleeping. Part of me thinks that my youngest picked his lovey because he missed cosleeping with me, since we used to…

    Like

  3. I just wrote about the answer to your question here: http://naturalparentsnetwork.com/five-benefits-cosleeping/

    To quote:
    “When a child routinely goes to sleep in the presence of an adult, or with an adult holding her, it’s extremely rare to find thumb sucking or attachment to security objects.” In a study of children ages one to seven years old who all sucked their thumbs, 96% of them “had been left alone to fall asleep as infants. In stark contrast, there were no thumb suckers among a large group of children who had physical contact with an adult while falling asleep.” In a different study of children between three and five years old, researchers found “that solitary sleepers were far more likely to use a security object than co-sleepers. The researchers concluded that children use security objects as substitutes for nighttime human touch.”

    (citation in post)

    🙂

    Like

    • Hey Thanks Dionna! I didn’t really research it but it does ring true. I wonder if Aellyn will develop an attachment to a toy as she gets older even outside of the bedroom? Very interesting!

      Like

  4. My Superbaby is just 3 months old and does not have a lovey yet. He is coslpeeing so it will be interesting to see if he develops love for a certain item soon. Great post! Love this new blog set up too.

    Like

  5. I kept my baby in her room until around 8 months and had to move her to her crib because I was getting ZERO sleep. I hate not having her cosleep but the best thing I did was give her a lovey- a tiny square blanket that she uses while she nurses and I think she likes it because it smells like her mommy 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

