Viable

This week is a big milestone in pregnancy!  I’m 24 weeks (meaning I’ve completed 24 weeks and am in my 25 week) which doctors usually refer to as the point of viability.  Basically if a baby is born now it has a 50% chance of survival – prior to now the numbers are much more abysmal and 22 weeks is the first week that survival is even a possibility (the youngest premie to survive was 21weeks and 6 days).

Length of Pregnancy Likelihood of Survival
23 weeks 17%
24 weeks 39%
25 weeks 50%
26 weeks 80%
27 weeks 90%
28-31 weeks 90-95%
32-33 weeks 95%
34+ weeks Almost as likely as a full-term baby
Sources: March of Dimes, Quint Boenker Preemie Survival Foundation

See how quickly the numbers jump up?

This week the boys are estimated to be the length of an ear of corn and weight 1.5 lbs each.  As you can see in the diagram bellow from BabyCenter – I’m huge!  I’m at least the size I was at 30 weeks with Aellyn.  They kick me constantly and are both vertex (for now).

I had blood drawn today to check my liver enzymes because I’m very itchy on my chest and legs with no rash.  This can be a sign of choleostasis which I’ll refrain from describing until I hear I have it (my Dad reads this blog – don’t want him to freak out).  My symphysis pubis dysfunction is also in full bloom.  Ouch!  It hurts to walk but is bearable.  Anything that separates my legs too much though is excruciating so I end up walking like a geisha.  And I can’t lift a leg at all – I have to sit to get dressed and it still hurts.  Rolling over in bed is very painful too.  Pete changed bedrooms for us so I would have an easier time getting out of bed – I was up against the wall which made scooting down necessary.

I haven’t thrown up in 9 days!  I haven’t had a migraine in 2 weeks!  Slowly but surely I’m getting to the day I can meet my little boys.

4 thoughts on “Viable

  1. This is your Dad and yes i read your blog, you can’t just drop a bomb like that and not call me to let me know what the hell is going on………waiting Dad

    Like

  2. So glad you feeling better as far as your head aches and throwing up is concerned. You are a baby growing machine. (That’s a compliment) Call and let us know what’s going on.

    Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

