Beta #2 and Blog Guilt

Ok, I’m so ashamed of my blog-etiquette lately!  I have literally not read anyone else’s blog in WEEKS!  My Google Reader had like 3000+ and I had to say “mark all as read.”  Plus, I haven’t been commenting or even returning comments.  I always hate that at the moment I’m most being supported by my readers is when I’m usually so self-absorbed that I’m not reciprocating.  Sigh.  Please know you comments have meant so much to me and I’ll be back in the swing of things soon!  (Especially huge thanks to Dionna who is doing a fabulous job over at NursingFreedom.org with about zero help from me lately).

So, I had my second beta on Wednesday.  7,368.  Yep, seven thousand.  Woohoo!  I know everyone likes to speculate about multiples with high beta numbers but there is almost no scientific evidence that beta numbers can tell you anything.  The reason they do 2 tests is to determine if you hCG is rising as it should.  My doubling time is 1.8 and at most 2 days is the norm so this number basically means I’m “really” pregnant and everything is going smoothly.  I’ve known women with crazy high numbers to have singletons and then lower numbers than mine have twins so I really have to wait till my ultrasound to know anything more.  That is scheduled for next Friday, 8/27!

THAT’S SO FAR AWAY!!! /whine

It is always hard not to worry until you see that beautiful heartbeat.  Developing a good heart rate is really a sign of a healthy baby and miscarriage rates go down to less than 5% after seeing a hb.  The heart usually begins beating on day 22 past ovulation so my little one’s heart is probably already beating!

I’ve been nauseous mostly in the evenings and I have to always have food on me because an empty stomach will make me really queasy.  My breasts are sore and nursing HURTS LIKE HELL.  Does anyone know if that is something that will pass?  Or do I need to brace myself for 9 months of ouchies?  What else?  I have pimples.  nice.  I have unexplainable back pain.  I’m so TIRED!  I could sleep allllll day.  I’m also having headaches and had a killer migraine on Wednesday and of course couldn’t take Imitrex so I had to ride it out.  I got headaches with Aellyn too so I think it is just my body’s reactions to all the hormones.

Speaking of hormones – Dionna asked what the big needle was for.  That is my nightly injection of progesterone.  Progesterone is normally released by the ovary after it releases and egg.  It tells your body not to have a period and has immune functions so your body won’t reject the embryo.  Eventually the placenta produces progesterone and it keeps you pregnant until the level drops off signaling labor.  So, with assisted reproductive technology they supplement your progesterone starting one week before transfer to 12 weeks into the pregnancy.  That’s right – 7 more WEEKS of the big shots.  On a good note my left butt cheek is almost completely numb so it doesn’t hurt anymore.  My right one however hurts and burns.  The progesterone is in oil so it goes in slow and sluggish.  Ugh.  Honestly it is almost nice to have something tangible to do daily to help my baby.  Early pregnancy is such a helpless time.  You can’t do anything but wait for nature to take its course and get you to u/s day.

So, that’s my update for now.  Thank you so much for your comments, prayers, and support.  If I could beg you to keep ’em coming until that hb appears I’d be so appreciative!

10 thoughts on “Beta #2 and Blog Guilt

  1. Every blogger is going to have a period where they are needier than they are supportive. I personally find my commenting ability goes in spurts: there are periods where I am awesome about returning comments and reading/commenting on all of the blogs in my Reader. Then there are times when I'm so stressed that I can barely manage to get posts up on my site, much less read/leave feedback on others. We all understand that!
    That being said – I'll be very happy when you do start posting again 🙂

    And yikes on that needle – I do NOT envy you that! (But I do envy that little bean in your belly!!)
    :hugs

    Like

  2. You are totally allowed to take a little blogging break! No guilt. You have a lot going on 🙂

    Beta #’s sounds great. Congrats!

    With my IVF they had me on progesterone suppositories rather than the injections. Could this be possible for you so you don’t have to shoot up every night for the next seven weeks? Just a thought.

    Like

  3. Don’t feel guilty! Just focus on yourself and your babies and on getting some much needed rest.

    Wowzers that’s a nice high number. I know you said it doesn’t mean you’re having multiples…but have you thought about it!? Wow. Can’t wait to hear the results of your U/S. I’m sure everything will be great but it sure will be nice for you to know there is a nice strong HB. I most definitely will continue sending thoughts and prayers your way!

    Like

  4. Every blogger is going to have a period where they are needier than they are supportive. I personally find my commenting ability goes in spurts: there are periods where I am awesome about returning comments and reading/commenting on all of the blogs in my Reader. Then there are times when I’m so stressed that I can barely manage to get posts up on my site, much less read/leave feedback on others. We all understand that!
    That being said – I’ll be very happy when you do start posting again 🙂

    And yikes on that needle – I do NOT envy you that! (But I do envy that little bean in your belly!!)
    :hugs

    Like

  5. We all understand – and I remember the tiredness! It’s totally fine to just take care of yourself. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers. It’s wonderful that you’re sharing your pregnancy experiences. I know you provide so much information and inspiration to others in similar circumstances. I love your blog and gave you the Wild about Your Blog Award at http://LivingMontessoriNow.com/2010/08/20/awards-… No need to do anything – just know you’re appreciated!

    Like

  6. We all understand – and I remember the tiredness! It’s totally fine to just take care of yourself. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers. It’s wonderful that you’re sharing your pregnancy experiences. I know you provide so much information and inspiration to others in similar circumstances. I love your blog and gave you the Wild about Your Blog Award at http://LivingMontessoriNow.com/2010/08/20/awards-to-happily-pass-on/ No need to do anything – just know you’re appreciated!

    Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

