Wordless Wednesday – Now with Words!

A smiling monkey in a monkey shirt

If you are a Wordless Wednesday purist – stop here!

So, on Tuesday I woke up to find that Google had disabled my account due to someone reporting my blog for “Questionable Content.”  Now, my blog wasn’t the only thing disabled (Blogger is owned by Google) – ALL my Google accounts were disabled! I use Gmail, Calendar, Docs, Reader…the list goes on.  I’m kinda a Google fan.  Or, I WAS a Google fan.

Apparently anyone can choose to report a blog.  Google does not disclose what the complaint was or even narrow it down beyond “Questionable Content.”  They disable your account without contacting you in any way.  Fortunately, it was easy to re-enable my account – they verify that you are a real person by sending a code to your cell phone.  I had my account unlocked within an hour of discovering the problem.  HOWEVER, my blog is still flagged as “Inappropriate” and visitors have to click an acknowledgement that the blog contains Questionable Content on every page load.

As a visitor this is annoying to say the least.  As a blogger this offends me greatly.  I have no recourse to question the person who flagged me.  I could appeal to Google to look at the issue.  This takes a very long time (since I don’t have a monetary relationship with Google why would they hurry?).  However my blog will still be flagged during the process.  What happened to Innocent until proven Guilty?  What if someone accidentally reported my blog or what if someone is intentionally griefing me by flagging my blog?

I can’t really know what it was that caused my blog to be flagged.  For all I know someone was just randomly flagging blogs to ruin people’s days.  However, this all happened within 8 hours of my posting this photo:

"Questionable Content"

SHOCK!!!! Yep, that is a sliver of my areola!  OMG!  If you look at this picture and only see a nipple and fail to see my minute-old daughter and tear-filled husband’s face then you are an asshole.  If ever there was a time when a breast was NOT sexual this is it!  What is my breast doing in this picture?

  1. providing warmth to my newborns body
  2. emitting smell that will guide her to her first nutrient-rich nursing session that will secure our bonds, release oxytocin, and fill her with antibodies to this strange new world
  3. producing hormones that reduce my risk of uterine rupture and bleeding and help me bond with my daughter

So, I’m sorry if I didn’t crop it out (not really) but it is an important part of a very important moment in my life.

Whoever flagged me can bite me.  And so can Google!

Welcome to WordPress.  You get what you pay for.  I have managed to save all my posts although I have TONS of broken links and my categories/tags are completely whacked.  Please bear with me while I make this transition.  And a word of caution goes out to all my fellow bloggers on Blogger:  get out while you can.  Wordpress is free; or, you can do what I’m doing, which is to purchase the hosted version for $6.95 per month.  That’s not bad to have a little more control and security.  People pay alot more for their hobbies than this and I get so much back from my blogging community that it is worth it!

17 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – Now with Words!

    • Hi Darcel!

      The plan I got with Bluehost.com for 6.95 includes the domain registration which I paid 10 per year for. It is a really good deal. I design websites in my day job too so if you want any help I’d be happy to help (here or on blogger!)
      .-= Paige´s last blog ..Diaper Duty Dilemma =-.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Wordless Wednesday – Now with Words! -- Topsy.com

  2. dear daughter you are wrong about one thing, the person who complained about content is not just an asshole they are a f_ _ _ _ ng asshole. my bet is it is a right wing religious nut bag (maybe it was Sarah PALIN) who has nothing better to do than sit on there ass and look for the smallest think to bitch about. the pictures are beautiful,and your blogg is great i really injoy reading it, plus i get to see and learn things about my baby gheel.keep it up. (thats’ what she said) last remark is for DH.

    Like

  3. Holy cow! You know, I didn’t even notice that there was any nipple in the picture until you pointed it out. Shows you what I was paying attention to! My husband keeps trying to get me to switch to an Apple Mobile Me account for my blog, which is what I used for my old pregnancy blog. I am totally technologically challenged though and have no idea how I would transition everything. ugh.
    .-= Shana´s last blog ..Dear Universe: WTF?! =-.

    Like

  4. I can’t believe Google would be so “a couple centuries ago”. A little research would have been the right thing to do. We need to spread the word about Google. I bet they know more than they’re saying. I know a person that had her email account shut down because her son told one of his friends that he would kill him (just kidding) clearly seeing that the rest of the conversation was not a threatening one. This is the worse kind of censorship. This is very questionable treatment – I’m glad you were able to retrieve all your entries.

    Like

    • That’s good to know Mom. And I agree, I”m all about political correctness but this zero tolerance things makes us all stupid. Like expelling a 1st grader for making a “gun” with his had?
      .-= Paige´s last blog ..Diaper Duty Dilemma =-.

      Like

  5. How cute that your dad reads this.
    It is an outrgae that you have been reported, I’m glad I can finally access your blog again! I missed you. I am thinking the reporting was about the big women dancing… can’t have that, happy fat women… let alone dancing!
    Your dd is magnificent.

    Like

  6. I never noticed the nipple until you pointed it out. Wow. I wonder if the same person who reported your nipple also takes it upon herself to also report every picture of scantily clad women that are on so many sites, ads, etc. (sigh) What an idiot.
    I am so glad that you were able to get your stuff moved over. I hope the rest of the process isn’t too painful!
    .-= Dionna @ Code Name: Mama´s last blog ..The Joys of Breastfeeding a Toddler #3 =-.

    Like

  7. I never noticed the nipple until you pointed it out. Wow. I wonder if the same person who reported your nipple also takes it upon herself to also report every picture of scantily clad women that are on so many sites, ads, etc. (sigh) What an idiot.
    I am so glad that you were able to get your stuff moved over. I hope the rest of the process isn't too painful!
    .-= Dionna @ Code Name: Mama´s last blog ..The Joys of Breastfeeding a Toddler #3 =-.

    Like

  8. Hi there, I first visited your blog the other day and I got that message about it possibly being inappropriate. At that point I hadn’t even seen your blog yet, but since I clicked thru from phd in parenting (I think?) I was immediately annoyed on your behalf, since I was sure the “inappropriateness” must have something to do with childbirth or breastfeeding. Glad you could switch to WordPress and hope it works out better for you!
    .-= Liz´s last blog ..On Lactivism =-.

    Like

    • @Liz – of course that all happened on the day my guest post went up on PhD in Parenting! I wonder how many people got turned away! Glad you stuck it out! So happy to have you.

      Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

