How Did You Find Me?

I’m going to steal an idea from Jenepper.com, although hers turns out way funnier than mine!  She blogs about some of the hilarious keyword terms that bring people to her blog.  (Hilarious, go check it out).  I decided to check out the keywords that lead people to my blog.  Apparently I’m not going to win any awards for most humorous blog since none of mine were funny but it was really interesting and even encouraging.

My keyword hits since January 1,  2010:

First, 23% of my blog visits are from a Google keyword search!  This was shocking to me because I think of blogging more in terms of the great network of fellow bloggers I’ve made (Cyclesista.com, Carnival of Natural Parenting, Carnival of Breastfeeding, Twitter followers, etc.).  Finding out that almost a quarter of my traffic is “strangers” that aren’t part of that community is so interesting.  So, what are they looking for?

Birth Affirmations and Breastfeeding Affirmation

Almost half of all my keyword hits are for “birth affirmations” and “breastfeeding affirmations” specifically, in addition there are many variations like “affirmations for birth,” “positive birth quotes,” etc.  There was even one for “10 affirmations for your wife in labor.”  Overall this seems to be my most oft searched for topic.

This makes me feel really good!  Affirmations were so valuable to me during my IVF, pregnancy, labor, and breastfeeding.  As a combination of meditation, prayer, and positive intentions I would probably rank it up there with my most valuable tool so it is wonderful that it also ranks as valuable to readers.

My posts about Affirmations:

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Felt Play Food

My next highest keywords all deal with felt play food.  This was cool because it isn’t something I consider myself good at but was so fun!  I think it helps for people to see pictures of the finished product and know that anyone (no matter how sewing-handicapped) can do it.

My posts about Sewing/Felt Play Food

<p>Subscribe to RSS headline updates from: <a href=”http://feeds.feedburner.com/babydustdiaries/sbzj”></a><br/>Powered by FeedBurner</p>

Crunchy Living

Next are keywords that are a variation on crunching living, crunching parenting, natural parenting, etc.  Very affirming that my intentions are not vague!  Apparently my “subtle” hints that I’m a crunchy hippie chick have worked!

My posts about Crunchy Living

ummm…all of them?

Spanking

This one made me feel really good to since outlawing hitting children is so important to me.  Searchs include: “spanking leading to agression,” “spanking cognitive,” and “spanking normative.”

My Posts on Gentle Discipline/No-Spank

<p>Subscribe to RSS headline updates from: <a href=”http://feeds.feedburner.com/babydustdiaries/VPuJ”></a><br/>Powered by FeedBurner</p>

Vaccines

This is a passion of mine so I’m glad that people are finding my blog posts on this topic.  Top keywords include information about herd immunity (“herd immunity flaw,” “herd immunity fallacy,” etc.).  There are also lots of keyword searches concerning tylenol safety and tylenol and autism.  My post about that was a guest post with great information: Please Use Tylenol With Extreme Caution!

My posts about Vaccines

<p>Subscribe to RSS headline updates from: <a href=”http://feeds.feedburner.com/babydustdiaries/YSnL”></a><br/>Powered by FeedBurner</p>

Mothering.com Banned Mamas

LOL!  This is hilarious and has many variations:  “mothering.com censorship,” “motheringdotcommunity banned,” and “kicked out of mothering.com.”  Even a search for “hippymom vs mdc.”  This all refers to my getting banned from the forums at mothering.com last June because I dared to question their censorship policy.  It is kind of affirming that people find my blog for this.  Clearly (since these keywords are all since January) MDC is up to its old tricks.  I often miss MDC so much because the members are so wonderful but the board is managed like the gestapo and I can’t associate myself with something like that.

An Open Letter to MotheringDotCommunity

Amber Teething Necklaces

My Post on the benefits of amber is still popular as well as my images of Aellyn in her necklace.

Baltic Amber Teething Necklaces

Your Baby Can Read

My post on Your Baby Can Read has gotten many hits.  Some of the search terms include: “your baby can read fraud,” “your baby can read fake,” “your baby can read research,” etc.

My Baby Can Read! Fantastic or Fake?

Fluoride

My post on Fluoride has received hundreds of hits.  Search terms like “dangers of fluoride,” “fluoride ingestion vs topical,” “fluoride in tap water,” “what’s the hypothesis of tap water helping prevent cavitys in kids, ” and “fluoride toxicity.”

Fluoride: What Every Parent Should Know

 Other keywords deal with my accronyms:  SAHM, WOHM, SAHD, IVF, etc.

Very interesting!

Oh, and I had one funny one: “everything has an end and pudding has two”

What?


I’m now on Facebook!  Will you join me?
FB.init(“c9d3a787f89b147beb2a18e12c912523”);
Did you like this post? Rate it below or Subscribe to my RSS Feed via Reader, Twitter, or Email

RSSTwitterFacebook

7 thoughts on “How Did You Find Me?

  1. Sorry dear, i’ve been following you so long (more than a year now) that i don’t remember how i came here. Probably either your stance on vaccines or fluoride, & most likely you commented at another blog. I usually become a reader thru comments at blogs i already follow rather than searches. Enjoyed the post, however. 🙂

    Like

  2. Very cool idea for a post. I might second-hand steal this idea too! Although I haven’t checked how people find me in ages. Never anything too weird though from what I remember.

    Like

  3. It doesn’t surprise me at all that a lot of your readers come from google searches. Your posts are amazing! Fantastically researched, clear, well-organized. Keep them coming 🙂

    Like

  4. It doesn't surprise me at all that a lot of your readers come from google searches. Your posts are amazing! Fantastically researched, clear, well-organized. Keep them coming 🙂

    Like

  5. Wow, thanks Dionna! That makes me feel so good! That’s what my husband said but…well, he’s my husband right?

    Melodie – I’d love it if everyone stole the idea. It is interesting and gives us an overview of some posts we might not have read!

    Kathryn – I can’t remember either! I feel like I’ve been following you forever. Did I find you through Sunnydaytodaymama? Do you follow her?

    Like

  6. I follow you because your my daughter but I also get an education every time I visit. Your brilliant! I think that is a totally impartial judgement!

    Like

  7. No, i don’t know Sunnydatodaymama. But Aellyn is very close to Meredith’s age (the daughter of the doc where i work.) She was born 20 Feb 2009. So i may have come across your blog & thought, “That baby is Meredith’s age!” & started to follow from there. Or, i did do a “blog party” last year in March thru Dancing Barefoot on Weathered Ground.

    Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

