Usual Suspects: NFL, CBS, Tebow, and NOW

Let’s just get it out there.  I’m 100% pro-choice.  Meaning I do not believe Roe v. Wade should be overturned and I think abortion should be legal.  I’m 100% pro-life.  Meaning I believe that life begins at conception and is a precious and intentional act of God.

I take static from both sides of the Pro-Choice/Pro-Life campaigns.  I’ve been told by Pro-Lifers that I’m not “voting my conscience” and I’ve let my Christianity become secularized (at best – I had one person call me a eugenicist.)  Pro-Choicers vilify me because I am in favor of educating women about the nature of the fetus and responsible procreation.  I don’t see anything wrong with having reproductive choice and responsibility.  I also don’t see anything wrong with being Christian and not wanting to legislate my religion on others.

C’est la vie.  I find it much more disturbing that abortion becomes this polarizing topic that people expend all their passion arguing while other issues are ignored.  For example, this recent brouhaha about a 30 second Super Bowl Ad.

Focus on the Family paid CBS to air an ad during this Sunday’s Super Bowl game featuring Heisman Trophy winner, Tim Tebow, and his mother sharing their personal pro-life story.  Focus on the Family certainly espouses some views I find heinous but all reports point to this commercial being very uplifting and mild as political ads go.  No pictures of dead babies and picketing with signs scrawled with “murderer.”

Nonetheless, the National Organization of Women (NOW) and other feminist groups have called for CBS to cancel the ad.  I’m certainly no fan of CBS.  They have repeatedly denied ads for other groups with social messages and have accepted the Tebow ad because it was “responsibly produced“(?).  I don’t think any of us should assume that the Super Bowl commercials will be a fairly distributed and balanced look at American social life.

And here is the crux of my problem:  People everywhere – Pro-Lifers, Pro-Choicers, Feminists, Christians, Network Execs, and Sports personalities are expending tons of energy arguing about the appropriateness of this one commercial while it will no doubt be sandwiched between something far more sinister.  Case in point, previous years’ Super Bowls had the following ads:

So, an ugly woman needs a gimmick to make men notice her, which of course she does and of course the men treat her like an object.

The Go Daddy Girl?  Really?

This commercial is not only degrading to women but offensive to a slew of minorities.

Focus on the Family’s Tebow ad will at its worse spark debate because it is overt in its purpose.  The half-naked woman selling a product in the commercial before it is much more insidious because it is covert.  It adds to the subtle and systemic culture of misogyny. It will spark subconscious disrespect for women and cause a new generation of girls to have self esteem so low it leads to anorexia, bulimia, dangerous cosmetic surgery, years of therapy bills and drug abuse.  While boys learn that women are objects – collections of body parts to be oogled.

NOW missed the boat*.  Tebow and Focus on the Family win this round of the abortion merry-go-round. Unfortunately it is all of us and our children that really lose.

*Planned Parenthood did a better job with this nice rebuttal video.


Did you like this post? Rate it below or Subscribe to my RSS Feed via Reader, Twitter, or Email

4 thoughts on “Usual Suspects: NFL, CBS, Tebow, and NOW

  1. Love this post. Leave religion out of politics and politics out of religion. Make sure our political agendas are fair and free of moral opinions. Even God gave us free will to choose to do good or bad in our lives. Leave the judgement of morality up to God where it belongs and live a moral life as you see it and not as someone legislates it. I am a Pro-life-choicer too.

    Like

  2. I don’t know that i entirely agree with your stance on this, but i accept it. (No name-calling from me.)

    But i completely agree with your (implied) opinion on: “I’ve been told by Pro-Lifers that I’m not ‘voting my conscience’ and I’ve let my Christianity become secularized . . . ” That is, i think, personally, that the polarization of Christians & especially that they will choose a candidate based on ONE issues is just wrong.

    But then, a number of things folks do in the name of Christ disturb me.

    Like

  3. Very well-written article, Paige!

    I do disagree with not voting our morals, as I think God has given us a specific charge to live according to the code He created, and voting is a reflection of us living by that code. Otherwise, we’d just be voting based on something completely worldly, like what’s best for our pocketbooks. Protecting the life of the innocent, to me, is one of our biggest responsibilities, if we do agree that all children are made in the image of God and deserve love.

    To me, it is exercising “love thy neighbor” to do your best to protect those around you (including, most importantly, the innocent and blameless) from harm. People are certainly free to do what they will, and they’ll be held accountable for it. But if we don’t do our part to try to protect those who can’t protect themselves (just as we’d do for a child being abused, for example), I fully expect that we’ll be held accountable for our part in letting it happen.

    Like

  4. Wonderful comments. Education is the key. The fight over life or choice boils down to circumstance. Who am I to judge someones choices in life when I am not walking in their shoes. God will be their judge. Lets join together to stop senseless abortion through education and not legislation.

    Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

