Wii, Water, and Waaaaaa!

How’s everyone doing on their New Year’s Resolutions?  Yes, you.  Don’t look away!  You know you made some and don’t pretend you didn’t.  Denial will do you no good!

1.  Operation run my first 5k/Body After Baby – I’ve been working out with the Wii.  It is really great fun!  I like the hula hoop on the Wii Fit (you have no idea how aerobic swinging your hips can be until you try it!) and boxing on Wii Sports.  The boxing is such a great cardio AND arm workout.  My arms were hurting clear down my back from the twisting and punching motion.  I have EA Active as well but find it annoying because you are always  switching equipment which eats up your workout time.  Overall, I totally recommend a Wii as a piece of workout equipment.
I’ve also went to our first water fitness class and loved it.  It is nice to be in the water when you are working out because it is refreshing.  That doesn’t mean it isn’t a workout!  I have a friend I saw at class who has lost almost 50 lbs. since August!  She looks amazing and it is a real inspiration to me.  I also really like taking the class with my husband – I’ll be much less likely to not go.
So that is Wii and Water…the Waaaaa is Aellyn’s first babysitting experience.  It didn’t go well.  She cried off and on I guess but was inconsolable for the last half hour.  When I got there her little diaphragm was a-jumpin’!  As soon as she saw me she calmed down.  I feel like she’s too young to understand “mommy’s leaving and will be back.”  Granted, many parents have no choice but have their kids learn how to deal with it out of necessity.  We’ve been lucky to be able to have DH stay home with her so she just has no experience with separation.  The only people to ever watch her are my mom and dad or my sister and that is usually at home (I really think a strange location seriously compounds the separation anxiety).  Anyways, it just doesn’t seem worth it in light of us having another option.  I can take Aellyn in the Moby wrap and walk the track, I can swim with her in the kiddie pool, etc.  Or, should we try again with a babysitter?  I don’t know what to do.

Check out the other Mamas at Body After Baby!

144 Days Until Race Day!

2.  Project Pull My Financial Head Out of My Butt – mvelopes.com is really cool.  I think I’ll use it because mint.com is money management software, like Money or Quicken, but Mvelopes is more like a learning tool than a management tool.  It is for people who need a clue about money management and it is based on the zero-based budget and envelope philosophy of money management.  The core tenants of the program:

  • Spend cash, you know, cold hard cash?  That green stuff?  It has been a while since I’ve been acquainted with that.  The idea is that plastic and checks separate us from our money and that separation makes it hard to know what is coming in and going out.
  • “Spend” every  penny of your income before you get paid.  This type of budgeting is new to me.  I always budgeted what my bills were and then spent the rest sporadically, willy-nilly, and frankly, with my fingers crossed.  It is like I only look at my budget out of the corner of my eye and pray it works out.  What a stupid way to let my money spend me instead of me spending my money!
So I have a Spend Plan for each paycheck (another aspect of the program I think is good for the budget-dumb – it breaks it down by paycheck instead of just monthly) and when I get paid I “fund” my envelopes.  I have envelopes for bills, spending, and yearly costs like Christmas (another thing that gets the budget-challenged – it’s like “Christmas?? I didn’t know this was coming!”).
Those are my only updates for now.  I’m also moving forward with Project Go Google, but that is a separate post!  
How are you doing on your goals?


Did you like this post? Rate it below or Subscribe to my RSS Feed via Reader, Twitter, or Email

5 thoughts on “Wii, Water, and Waaaaaa!

  1. I’m going to start the envelopes. I don’t know what happened. When Jared and I were dating, before we had Aiden…I was working 3 jobs. I didn’t budget but I was really good about saving. At the end of the week, whatever money was left in my checking went in to my savings. Sometimes it was a good chunk (worked too much to play at times) and other weeks it would be $10. Regardless, I started from scratch every Saturday. As a result, when I got pregnant and needed to buy a car, I had a nice chunk as a downpayment.

    I think I’m going to bust out Wii Sports tonight, I forgot how fun boxing is. I love the training where you have to punch out as many bags as possible before time runs out!

    Like

  2. It is great to have a water buddy to go and keep you motivated and it is a great way to spend time with your hubby!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.