Hand Expressing Breastmilk

I don’t recommend it.  However, if you find yourself in need…

New Year’s Eve Aellyn stayed with my parents and we had a small get-together.  I, of course, forgot to bring my breast pump home from work and woke up on New Year’s Day with rocks for breasts *shudder*.  It was either hand express or have DH “help”.
He declined*.
So, here is what worked.  I sat cross-legged on the floor and kind of leaned over into a glass (a bowl would be easier since it goes every which way).  The leaning over put that additional pressure on the breast as I was all scrunched up.  I kind of squeezed the nipple pretty fast to stimulate let down.  Once I got some drips of milk I started really “milking” the breast.  I used both hands, thumbs on top of the breast and hands wrapped under.  Start at the chest and squeeze down toward the nipple.  At the nipple I paused until the stream ended.  I would do this until I lost let down and then I’d switch breasts.  Repeat.  I got about 4 oz which helped until baby arrived.
This didn’t hurt my breasts at all (in fact it was a great relief), however, my hands hurt like heck!  What a work out!  Count your blessings for electric pumps…and don’t forget to bring it home!

*so much for enlightened daddy.


Did you like this post? Rate it below or Subscribe to my RSS Feed via Reader, Twitter, or Email

One thought on “Hand Expressing Breastmilk

  1. That’s too funny! I love the comic! I will never forget when my 4 yr old asked if I could make him chocolate milk!

    Like

Comments are closed.