Thank You Rambling Rachel: Why I Won’t CIO

Ah, seek and you shall find.  Ask and the internetz brings forth the answer.  In browsing my blogroll today I stumbled across a post from Rambling  Rachel about why she’s glad she never did CIO with her son.

She first tried CIO in frustration when her son was just over 2 years old.  The nice thing about this experience is that 2 year olds can talk while babies can only cry until they pass out from exhaustion.  She relates her experience;


…my son cried. And being over two years of age, he could also talk and said:

“Mommy, I need you.”
“Mommy, come back.”
“Please, Mommy, I need you.”
“Come back.”

Heart wrenching pleas.
I remember standing over the sink of dishes and looking out the window as those words burned into my brain.

That is why I am glad that I never left him to cry alone when he was an infant and without words I could understand.


This is just what I needed to help me today (although it made me sob). Tonight when I hear Aellyn’s cries I will listen harder to hear what she can’t tell me.



Thank you Rachel.

2 thoughts on “Thank You Rambling Rachel: Why I Won’t CIO

Comments are closed.