Bible Wisdom for the Stressed

There is a great radio ministry called Christian Working Woman that I hear each morning on the way to work. They talk about common working-woman woes and how to put a spiritual spin on your problems. Their website is also a great source of information. This morning’s message was called Freedom from the Curse of Work and it talked about being able to say Thank God It’s Monday and not just Friday by enjoying your job. The key according to the speaker was to change your attitude! Boy, did I need to hear that!

So I decided to compile some Biblical wisdom regarding work, stress, and anxiety to remind me to count my blessings and I thought I’d share.

Be Content and Patient

…I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation….I can do everything through him who gives me strength (Philippians 4:11-12).

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart as working for the Lord, not for men”
(Colossians 3:23).

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up (Galatians 6:9).

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke
upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30:).

“Since you know that you will receive an inheritance form the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving (Colossians 3:24).”

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him (Ps. 37:7).”

“Those who wait on the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings likand not become weary (Isaiah 40:31).”

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do (Ephesians 2:10).” 

 
Relax:

“Cast all your anxiety upon him because he cares for you (1 Peter 5:7).”

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own (Matt. 6:34).”

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life (Matt. 6:27)?”

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God (Phil. 4:6).”

“An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up (Prov. 12:25).”

“Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God (Ps. 42:5, 11).” 

“A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones (Prov. 17:22).”

Communication Skills:

“Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry (James 1:19).”

“Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men (Titus 3:1-2).”

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger (Proverbs 15:1).”

“Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing (Proverbs 12:18).”

“Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones (Proverbs 16:24).”

” The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit (Proverbs 18:21).

“Through patience a ruler can be persuaded, and a gentle tongue can break a bone (Proverbs 25:15).

“A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver (Proverbs 25:11).”

