Update on Baby Led Weaning: AKA Self-feeding for infants

I thought I’d pop in with an update on the no purees thing.  It is really going so naturally that I don’t think about it but I realize it is “weird” so I wanted to update.

Aellyn loves to eat.  It is a game for her!  She doesn’t want me to feed her and that doesn’t bother me.  I want her to feel independent and to experience everything about the food herself.  She often makes a yucky face and then looks at us and then goes back to eating.  I’ve come to learn that her yucky face doesn’t mean she doesn’t like it because we haven’t given her a single food she’s refused!  We recently decided to have her start sharing what we are eating.  There are no food sensitivities in our family so we felt comfortable moving forward (if you have sensitivities I’d be more cautious in timing new foods).  The only things we do different for her is leave off sauces – we eat spicy stuff and really it is just added salt, sugar, etc. that she doesn’t need right now.

She has had:

  • carrots
  • asparugus
  • broccoli
  • green beans
  • cauliflower
  • squash
  • zucchini
  • sugar snap peas (in the pod)
  • potato (mashed and baked)
  • sweet potato
  • banana
  • baked apple
  • peaches
  • blueberries (mashed)
  • yogurt (yobaby – the only thing we spoon feed)
  • cheerios (and other small cereals/gerber graduate type foods)
  • roast beef
  • chicken
  • salmon
  • pasta
  • ravioli (cheese)
  • perogies with spinach

That’s all I can think of now.  The only things we are truly avoiding is milk, honey, nuts, strawberries, citrus, nut butters, peas (too small), … can’t think of anything else now.

I’m so surprised at how easy this has been.  And effortless!  No time spoon feeding, no time pureeing, no cost buying baby food.  No waste (baby food jars and such).  I feel her pincher grasp has grown by leaps and bounds becaue of this and she is developing a very good relationship with food and with family dinner time.  If I hadn’t read about BLW I’d never have thought to try it.  I hope if you are reading this for the first time you’ll consider giving it a try too!

Picture:  Aellyn eating cheerios – and leaving one on her chin!

