Melt My Heart


Aellyn smiled at me today!  I mean really smiled in response to something I did (play with her nose) she smiled with her eyes and her mouth and she did it more than once.  It was magical and I actually cried!  It was such a strong emotion of seeing her personality – seeing her soul through her eyes instead of just seeing an infant.  I know that it is all going to be a rush of new things now for the next few years and I won’t even be able to believe she was ever this small.  I’m torn between wanting to see more of her personality and relishing the time I have to cuddle her tiny body in my arms.

This was the last week of my husband’s paternity leave (hence the bad blogging) and we have really enjoyed being lazy and just getting to know our new baby girl. It has been such a special time together and I know we will never forget it.  When he goes back to work on Monday I’m going to emerge more from my babymoon mode too.  I want to start exercising to capitalize on my pregnancy weight loss.  I bought some jeans today and I’m down a size from my prepregnancy jeans!  I’d like to keep it going but mostly I just want to get fit again from all the time on bedrest so I can keep up with Aellyn when she starts moving!
Aellyn had her 1 month check up this week.  She is 8lbs 6oz and 21 3/4 inches long.  She’s growing!  I must admit that makes me feel like a goddess because every ounce and centimeter of that is from milk I made with my body.  I am woman hear me roar!
