Is Nothing Sacral?


teehee.  A little medical joke courtesy of our great pediatrician Dr. Lavin (examining Aellyn at left).  There were some birth details I didn’t want to forget to record for posterity. 

Aellyn was born with a sacral dimple (medical name pilonidal dimple).  The images I found online look awful – Aellyn’s is adorable and very shallow – so, no cause for concern.
Also, newborn procedures.  First, I just can’t recommend Robinson Memorial Hospital enough.  If you live within and hour of this facility you should deliver your baby there.  They are so mother focused.  They don’t even have a nursery per se.  Rooming in is the norm.  All the nurses were very pro-breasfeeding (even though they hand out the free Similac crap) and really respected my birth plan.  They didn’t bug me either like “time to feed” or that stuff.  I’m sure they would have given me step-by-step if I had asked but they also respected my mothering instincts and didn’t try to tell me what to do unless I asked.  (Her web nursery photo is online now!)
I was refusing eye ointment, vitamin K, and (of course) the hepatitis B vaccine (the nurses called it “eyes and thighs”).  No one even batted an eye lash!  The pediatrician told us she was not comfortable with the vitamin K refusal but I told her we didn’t feel it was right for religious reasons and we felt comfortable with our decision and she dropped it.  It went very well – she got to get her point across but she didn’t feel the need to fear-monger me (“your baby will die if you don’t do this”).  I have to admit that the night we got home I had a small panic attack about the vitamin K.  Like, what if my baby was the one in 10,000 that died of hemorrhaging because I didn’t get vitamin K?  Making the intellectual decision is much different from holding your newborn and making the same decision.  In the end I have to trust my research and prayer.  God made her so perfect I can’t believe he forgot to give her vitamin K.
I did do the newborn screening, often called PKU testing for one of the things they are looking for.  This requires a heel prick to draw blood.  Aellyn was not a bleeder.  It took them an HOUR to milk a few drops of blood from her heel.  She was hysterical and her heel was so sore for days.  In hindsight I wish I had postponed this to do at her pediatrician office.  I put arnica montana on her heel and that seemed to help.  Also, like her mommy, the band aid they put on her left a mark worse than the heel prick.
