Crash Course at the Birth Center

I wish I had posted on Christmas day because we had a wonderful Christmas.  The last 3 days though I have been so sick.  Nausea and vomiting.  I figured I ate something bad but was still feeling yucky this morning.  We had our normal midwife appt today that took a wrong turn.  My blood pressure was 155/90!  (High blood pressure can be a symptom of pre-eclampsia also called toxemia)  So, she did the non-stress test and I worked on relaxing (sometimes my bp is high when I’m stressed).  When she took it again it was 148/something.  I had to go to the Birth Center for a bunch of blood work and more fetal monitoring.  I was there for 4 hours and during that time my blood pressure went back to normal (112/74) and my blood work all came back good.  The fetal monitor showed a healthy and very active baby!  I don’t know what happened today but it scared the crap out of me.  I go back on Wednesday to monitor my blood pressure and in the meantime my bedrest has been stepped up – more rest and lots of lying on my left side (which hurts like hell because of my shoulder injury – ugh).

2 thoughts on “Crash Course at the Birth Center

  1. i don’t think it was anything you ate, i think maybe you just got a bug.
    but what you ate could have caused your BP to go up.
    i ate a bug once and didn’t get sick or anything.
    try and relax and take it easy watch a little cspan, or watch paint dry.

    Like

  2. At one time in the first trimester, my BP was soaring. After that, I started taking my magnesium supplement everyday. Since then, it was pretty much always 100/60. The moment my DD was born, it went back to normal at 120/80. By the way, if you’re having preterm labor, the hospital gives you magnesium. Interesting, huh?

    Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

