Not a River in Egypt

My denial, that is.  So it is official.  Despite my lame attempts at ignoring my symptoms I officially have a “pregnancy complication.”  It is scary to admit and I spent much time ignoring the pain because I didn’t want my midwife to refer me out to an OB or something.  The pain was getting worse though not better so I didn’t want to jeopardize the baby.

I have SPD – symphysis pubis disorder.  The symphysis joint is where the two bones of your pelvis meet in the front.  We call it the pubic bone but it is actually two bones that meet in the middle with a ligament.  This ligament normally relaxes and spreads during pregnancy.  In some people it spreads too much and/or becomes misaligned.  This cause intense pain.  It hurts to walk and get up and down from a sitting position.  The worst is rolling over in bed.  I have to do it with my knees together and it hurts sooo bad.  I really aggravated the pain when I was in NYC a few weeks ago.  So, I took it easy for a few days hoping it would calm down instead it got worse and worse.  I finally broke down and went into the midwife.

She has referred me to a chiropractor who specializes in pregnancy.  Apparently there is a specific adjustment that can relieve the pain associated with SPD.  Unfortunately my insurance doesn’t cover chiropractic care.  😦  In January I’m changing plans and it will be covered but until then it is out-of-pocket.  I have an appointment next Monday so hopefully I can afford the frequency of treatment until January.  Sometimes I guess this treatment is a miracle cure and other times it just helps people function.  My primary goal is to manage the misalignment so that it won’t effect my labor and delivery.  Some women need a C-section to avoid worsening the problem.  In the meantime I will also be working from home.  This really seems to help because I can work in a comfortable position with my feet up.

Anyways, all worrying aside this is really not that big a deal.  THE BABY IS WONDERFUL.  That’s what really matters.  Of course I wanted to have an easy-as-pie pregnancy but cest la vie.  This is manageable.  This is worth it.

6 thoughts on “Not a River in Egypt

  1. You may want to look into investing in a maternity/belly band. I, too, have had wicked pain in the pubic joint and it got so bad I could barely walk.

    Well, I purchased one of these bands and within minutes of putting it on, the pain was GONE. I could walk! Sit! Move my legs without excrutiating pain!

    It may not be the total answer, but it could help a great deal. I’m not sure where you could find them in the states, but try motherhood maternity (I think they have an american store) and you can order online. This little thing is a godsend.

    Good luck!

    Like

  2. I just tried to post a comment but I don’t know if it “took” or not. If it did, I’m sorry for posting twice!

    Anyway, I had the same pain and I got to the point I couldn’t walk. I purchased a maternity/belly band (looks like an elastic belt) and within 1/2 an hour of wearing it, the pain was gone. Like GONE!

    I ordered mine from Motherhood Maternity. I’m not sure if they have an american store or not, but they are online. It’s the greatest thing and while it may not be the complete answer, it will really help you feel less discomfort.

    I highly recommend it.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the explanation. I hope the doc can help. I am praying it won’t complicate the delivery. Patti had good advise. Can I help get you a belly band?

    Like

  4. I hope that the chiropractor and the belly band can help you. Hopefully with just a few sessions you can feel much better and then have the appointments a little less frequent until January. I’ve seen they have something like a belly band thing at Babies R Us, however I don’t know if it’s the same that patti was talking about.
    Good luck!

    Like

  5. I suffered with the exact kind of pain you described for the last 4 months of my pregnancy but did not know there was a name for it and my doc chalked it up to “increased pressure from the baby being low”..but i knew something else was up. It got bad to the point I was unable to sleep in a bed because it hurt too bad to rollover or get out of bed, tried body pillows and changing my position, but not much helped..so alas..i slept in a recliner during much of my last trimester LOL. However, I did find that doing some light yoga and stretching in the morning would help with the pain after getting up. The pregnancy support band they sell at Motherhood Maternity is AWESOME, really helped with lower back pain for me too. Also, despite having these problems during the last part of my pregnancy, I had no problems delivering my 9lb pumpkin baby at all, in fact the delivery went without any complications at all. Hope this helps a little, good luck!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Viable

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

