A Case of the “Mondays”

Ugh.  I couldn’t sleep last night.  Partially because I think I’m afraid for this week to be over.  As long as the week lasts I can hold on to the hope that I’m pregnant.  Next Monday there is no guessing I either am (yay!) or I’m not (booo!).  It just scares the crap out of me sometime.

So, on little sleep, I got up to go to work and stopped to get gas about 3/4 of the way there only to discover I had left my whole wallet at home (this is a problem faced be chronic purse-switchers).  I had not a stitch of money to pay for gas and I was too far to go back home.  So I crossed my fingers and drove looking for my bank.  I must have passed 30 different banks when I finally saw the sign for mine in the distance!  It was like a beacon!

Of course, it was only 8:30 so I had to sit there for 1/2 an hour for them to open.  When they did they absolutely would NOT help me at all.  I mean I understand checking IDs but there is such a thing as emergencies and exceptions and acting like a human being.  None of this rang a bell with the ladies in this branch.  I called my mom, who happens to work for said bank to see what I could do, and she was fuming because her branch would have found a way to verify who I am.  I finally started sobbing and creating a scene that I wasn’t leaving without $20 and I couldn’t leave anyways because I had no gas.

Enter Branch Manager.  I was there for over an hour and I finally got my money.  I swear it is only because my mom works for the bank, they actually used her employee ID number as verification.  I’m glad it worked out but that kind of makes me mad.  I mean if I got mugged and stranded somewhere I would expect the people in my bank to be kind enough to help me out.  There are dozens of ways to mitigate risk to the branch by verifying who I am.  Signatures.  Acct. #, balance, deposits, ss#, etc.

Today they were more concerned with helping their own butts instead of mine.  You know I worked at a pizza place in college and a homeless guy came up and asked to exchange some cheap jewelry he had for a single slice of pizza.  I was all caught up in the “rules” and told him I couldn’t do that.  He was very nice and left.  This has haunted me for years for “some have entertained angels unawares [Hebrews 13:1-2].”  I would do anything to go back in time and give that man a piece of pizza.  Rules should never trump humanity.  Always treat others how you would want to be treated.  Angel or not, you always win.

6 thoughts on “A Case of the “Mondays”

  1. Thanks for not mentioning the Banks name. I am very disappointed in that branch teller and the Manager. I cannot believe that they didn’t realize that the Bank risk was all of $20.00. Believe me no one in bank management would have care about losing that much money to fraud. Shame on that Bank Branch.

    Like

  2. ARG…some people! Glad mom was there to lend a helping hand!!!

    I am feeling the same exact way…My summer officially started today and I can’t sleep past 6am?!?!? I was just lying there thinking about why I had a headache…could it be pregnancy related or PMS related or just a headache. The shots, sonos, bloodwork etc is nothing…the 2ww is hell!

    We can do it! I hope your Tuesday is better!

    Like

  3. Oh the days of a working for a bank. Remember that’s where you and I met…..Haven’t they ever heard of a SIGNATURE CARD!! Even Aaron couldn’t believe that they wouldn’t give you $20 without such a hard time. Anyways, love you and maybe these distractions is God’s way of keeping your mind elsewhere this week. Love you

    Like

  4. I like your story of the pizza. I think the best thing is that a lesson was learned from it.

    Unbelievable that the bank was so unsupportive – how hard would it have been to have verified your identity in some other way?

    Thinking of you this week…

    Like

  5. Life is full of moments – I could not sleep last night and so this rambling. I can remember wanting so bad to be pregnant – Doesn’t compare to this. Bringing my first child home from the hospital feeling awe and fear – Doesn’t compare to this. Bringing my second daughter home feeling awe and great fear – doesn’t compare. Watching their first steps, sending them on a school bus with strangers, hearing them learn to read, seeing them overcome shyness – doesn’t compare. The strong feeling of defending your child against another child bully or against a desease – doesn’t compare. The pride you feel at plays and graduations and weddings and watching accomplishments – does not compare to what I feel now. I want this pregnancy not for me but because I know my child and her DH want it so badly. It is for them that I hope and Pray and nothing up to this moment has compared to the intensity of these feelings. I love you and I am praying.

    Like

  6. Oh my GOD now your mom has me crying at work. These people must think I am crazy to be laughing and crying at my computer all the time. We just got baby update # 5…..:) sssssssssssooooooooooooooooooo happy for uuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

