Fine Print

You know the quickly spoken blurb of side effects that pharaceutical commericals have to have?  I always thought they were the result of an accidental hypochondriac getting thrown into the clinical trials.

I was wrong.

In fact, a small percentage of people just WILL get those effects.  I did – all of them – on clomid. Here is a list of Clomid side effects.

Table 2. Incidence of Adverse Events in Clinical Studies (Events Greater than 1%) (n = 8029*)

Adverse Event %
Ovarian Enlargement 13.6
Vasomotor Flushes 10.4
Abdominal-Pelvic Discomfort/Distention/Bloating 5.5
Nausea and Vomiting 2.2
Breast Discomfort 2.1
Visual Symptoms 1.5
Blurred vision, lights, floaters, waves, unspecified visual complaints,
photophobia, diplopia, scotomata, phosphenes
Headache 1.3
Abnormal Uterine Bleeding 1.3
Intermenstrual spotting, menorrhagia
*Includes 498 patients whose reports may have been duplicated in the event totals and could not be distinguished as such. Also, excludes 47 patients who did not report symptom data.

I had the most severe nausea I’ve ever had.  Hot flashes that drenched me in sweat followed by chills.  Uncontrollable vomiting.  It got so bad I had to go to the ER.  I couldn’t walk straight because of the blurred vision and dizziness.

The worst part is when you have a bad effect of a drug there isn’t anything the doctors can do but wait out the drug getting out of you system.  They gave me some IV anti-nausea meds that helped me open my eyes at least.  This started Friday on my last dose of Clomid and just started getting better earlier today (Tuesday).  Yuck.

Anyways – Saline ultrasound was perfect and FSH was good (I’ll get numbers next week when hubby and I go in for communicable disease testing for IVF).  So, I officially have a clean bill of fertility health so far.  That is great news for IVF.

Still waiting on getting that grant.

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

