2013 Year in Review!

Another year ending and a new one begining. I love New Year! It is so nostalgic and hopeful. I enjoy planning for the new year’s goals and reflecting on what happened in the year ending. Here’s my year in fives.

Top 5 Selfies

I actually used my own mug as my facebook profile several times this year. Part of the reason I rarely did this before is that my kids are damn cute but it is certainly a mark of progress in my journey of self-love that I found myself cute enough to unseat the kids form this coveted spot. Oh, and I like hair color.

New Year's 2013

New Year’s 2013

red hair

red hair

pink hair

pink hair

pink streak

pink streak

white!

white!

Top 5 Moments

I finally published my Gender Neutral Parenting book in late October (print in November) I hope it really takes off in 2014

I finally published my Gender Neutral Parenting book in late October (print in November) I hope it really takes off in 2014

I got my "mom" tattoo commemorating our infertility journey and my beautiful kids.

I got my “mom” tattoo commemorating our infertility journey and my beautiful kids.

We took our first family vacation!

We took our first family vacation!

I started an etsy shop for infertility related goods and jewelry. I liked my snarky cards.

I started an etsy shop for infertility related goods and jewelry. I liked my snarky cards.

This was actually taken at the end of 2012 but that's my grandpa and my sister and cousins. Grandpa died in January which isn't "best" at all but this year was filled with thoughts of him and that *is* good!

This was actually taken at the end of 2012 but that’s my grandpa and my sister and cousins. Grandpa died in January which isn’t “best” at all but this year was filled with thoughts of him and that *is* good!

 

Top 5 Articles

1. A Framework for Feminist Parenting

What Could Feminist Parenting Look Like?

Not feminist parenting as in “I’m a feminist and a parent”, but more in the actionable, skill-based philosophy of parenting through feminism. What if you didn’t use power over your kids but instead shared power with them? What if you nurtured socially conscious adults ready to challenge patriarchy? Let’s explore a fresh look at parenting rooted in feminist ideals of respect, equality, and social justice.


Source: Getty Images

2. Are You Raising a Bully Bystander? 5 Questions to Ask Yourself

Steubenville is a horrific example of the bystander effect. But what if your kid is a bystander to teasing, to name calling, to social ostracizing – behaviors that some refer to as “kids being kids?” Have you addressed that? Are you sure you’ve modeled the proper way not to stand by? Let’s look at some ways parents might inadvertently be supporting bystanders.


3. Men Feel the Pain of Infertility Too

Plenty of men feel depressed and isolated because they’re unable to conceive, but there are few outlets for support, says Paige
Lucas-Stannard.


 

4. My Homeschool Philosophy Series

Part 1: Introduction Holistic Education

Part 2: Transfer, Transact, Transform

Part 3: Unschooling


5. 4 Ways Parents Teach Kids that Consent Doesn’t Matter

This video blog I did about consent was my most viewed video of the year on my new youtube channel.

Starting a new year and so excited about the changes coming! I have a new book in March (based on the Transformative Parenting class), I have a new unified look for all the websites, and I’m working on a free series of workshops that will be a kind of virtual parents group. I hope you’ll join me!

I'd love to hear your comments or questions!

